Tel: 01481 227500

Apprentice of the year 2019

We are delighted to announce that the 2018/2019 Apprentice of the Year was Igor Freitas, a Carpentry and Joinery apprentice working at Jamie Allez Carpentry.

The Apprentice of the Year was set up in 2001 to acknowledge the dedication of apprentices in any apprenticeship offered by the Scheme.

Every year, the Apprentice of the Year awards are held, and both employers and apprentice tutors are offered the opportunity to nominate an apprentice for these awards. The list of nominations, which generally reaches over 20, is then reviewed by the judges, who  select a shortlist from the total nominations. These shortlisted nominees are then invited to come in for an informal chat to discuss their apprenticeship, what they have done, and what they hope to do.

Every nominee is then invited to the Apprentice of the Year awards evening, and all of the shortlisted nominees’ citations are read out. Each of them collects their certificate to acknowledge that they were in the shortlist and one of only 10 in over 300 apprentices.

The winner is then announced, together with the runners up.

Winners of the award since its inception are:

2001 Adrian Marsh
2002 Jamie Wallis
2003 Christopher Willis
2004 Heather Reddall
2005 Ed Strick
2006 Tom Scott
2007 Shane Wright
2009 Agonstinho Helder Gois
2011 Antoinette Martin & Richard Moore
2012 Kimberley Torode
2013 Daniel Kelly
2014 Sam Croxton
2015 Sam Stonebridge
2016 Brandon Williams
2017 Rebekah Williams
2018 Igor Freitas